Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About SR

General Info

News & Updates


Passenger Services

Contact Us

Personnel Branch Information
Reservation Rules
Re-engagement of Retired Para Medical Staff
Engagement of Contract Teachers - Erode
Pension Adalat-2023
Engagement of Contract Teacher Hindi - Madurai
Engagement of Contract Teacher - Podhanur
Engagement of Contract AYUSH Doctors
Engagement of Contract Speech Therapist
Engagement of Contract Occupational Therapist
Engangement of homeopathy Consultant - PTJ
SRHQPB Website
Online Holiday Home Portal
Online CGA Portal
Division/Workshop Allotment
Construction Organization
Railway Electrification
Accounts Department Information
News & Announcements
Goldenrock Workshop
Electrical Department
Carriage & Wagon Workshop
Signal & Telecom Workshop
Locomotive Workshop
Engineering Workshop
Chennai Division
Palghat Division
Madurai Division
Trichchchirappalli Division
Thiruvananthapuram Division
Salem Division
Press Releases
Press Release -Divisions
Current Events
Train Accidents Inquiry Reports
Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
586/2023-24 07-11-2023
Karaikal – Peralam New line project progresses at a brisk pace

Karaikal – Peralam new line project (23.55 Km) is an important infrastructure project undertaken by the construction branch of Southern Railway. The branch line connects Karaikal in Puducherry (UT) with Peralam falling in the Tiruvarur district and served by 6 railway stations.  

A metre gauge line, which existed between Karaikal and Peralam, during the French period, was closed in the mid-1980s.  The old line was removed after Karaikal became part of the Indian Union.  The new rail line will restore the rail link between Karaikal and Peralam after a gap of over three decades. Sanctioned at a cost of Rs.320.64 Crores including electrification, the section will be served by six stations with1 major bridge, 77 minor bridges, 1 ROB , 1 RUBand 21 Limited Use Subways planned in the section.

The railway stations in the stretch are Peralam, Ambagarattur (Halt), Pattakudi (Halt), Tirunallar, Karai-Kovilpattu (Halt) and Karaikal.  The project is progressing at a steady pace.

Works completed

·80% construction of Tirunallar block station has been completed

·Foundation for station building at Ambaharathur has been completed

·20% of earthwork completed between Peralam and Tirunallar

·75% of earthwork completed between Tirunallar and Karaikal

·50% of major bridge work (1 No.) completed

·75 out of 77 minor bridges completed


·       The new railway line will reduce the total distance between Karaikal and Peralam by 42 kilometers.

·Currently, freight trains traveling to and from Mayiladuthurai/Puduchatram require an engine reversal at Tiruvarur. Presently, 3 loaded trains to Puduchatram  are operated daily.  The new Karaikal-Peralam railway line with Northern end port connectivity will improve operational efficiency also significantly reducing the running time of freight trains.

·The revival of the rail link would provide connectivity to Thirunallar that houses the famous Saneeswarar temple which attracts devotees from various parts of the country. 

· The new line will considerably save the  journey time to Karaikal from Mayiladuthurai, as otherwise a circuitous route via Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam and Nagore has to be taken.

·Peralam station will become a railway junction o­nce the new line is commissioned

        Follow us



Chief Public Relations Officer

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.