Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About SR

General Info

News & Updates


Passenger Services

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
390A/2021-22 23-09-2021

In commemoration of the 75th Anniversary of India’s Independence, ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ is being celebrated throughout the country in a grand manner, coordinated by the Ministry of Culture.  Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is an initiative of the Government of India to celebrate and commemorate 75 years of progressive India and the glorious history of its people, culture and achievements.

To make the commemorative events more customer and citizen centric, an activity has been planned by the Railway Board – to run a Special Train o­n 02nd October, 2021 in the UNESCO heritage site of Nilgiri Mountain Railway (NMR).

Accordingly, Train No.06147, a fully reserved ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train, will be run from Mettupalayam to Udagamandalam (one way), the UNESCO heritage site of NMR section, o­n 02.10.2021.

The timings, seating capacity and fares of the Special Train are as detailed below.

‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train from Mettupalayam to Udagamandalam o­n 02.10.2021

Timings of the Special Train

Train No.06147 Mettupalayam – Udagamandalam ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train will leave Mettupalayam at 09.10 hrs. o­n 02.10.2021.  Enroute to Udagamandalam, the train will have o­nly o­ne stoppage – at Coonoor.  The Special Train will reach Coonoor at 12.30 hrs.  Leaving Coonoor at 12.55 hrs., the ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train will reach Udagamandalam at 14.25 hrs. o­n 02.10.2021.

Seating Capacity

The train will have 4 coaches, offering 72 First Class Seats and 100 Second Class Seats in total.


The fares for travel by the ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train are the same as that of the NMR weekly Special Train.

From Mettupalayam to Coonoor  -  Rs.1100 in First Class; Rs.800 in Second Class.

From Mettupalayam to Udagamandalam  -  Rs.1450 in First Class; Rs.1050 in Second Class.

From Coonoor to Udagamandalam  -  Rs.550 in First Class; Rs.450 in Second Class.

The fares are excluding GST and Reservation Charges.

Advance Reservations for travel by ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ Special Train are open.


Follow us:

Chief Public Relations Officer

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.